Essential Info for Uganda

Population: Over 45 million

Capital city: Kampala

Neighbouring countries: Uganda is a landlocked country surrounded by Kenya to the east, South Sudan to the north, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, Rwanda to the southwest and Tanzania to the south.

Geography: Uganda lies in the Nile basin and a substantial portion of Lake Victoria lies in the south of the country. Uganda has a varied but generally moderate equatorial climate.

Political system: Uganda is a semi-presidential republic

Major religion: Catholicism, Christianity, Islam

Main languages: English, Swahili

Money: The Ugandan Shilling (UGX) is the country's official currency. Some ATMs may be available in major urban centres, but expats in more rural areas will struggle to find these.

Tipping: It's customary to tip a guide, driver, porter or cook depending on the level of service.

Time: GMT+3

Electricity: 240 volts, 50 Hz 

Internet domain: .ug

International dialing code: +256

Emergency contacts: 999 or 112

Transport and driving: Ugandans drive on the left side of the road. Public transport is rudimentary in the form of minibus taxis.